30 Days Photography Challenge – Day 30

Well, the last day of this challenge has come. It was quite an adventure 🙂

I started with this challenge because I wanted to force myself out of my comfort zone and I wanted to have some extrinsic motivation to take photos with totally different themes. During the challenge I had to create self-portraits (which I hated), I had to take a photo of clouds on a day with almost no visible clouds at all, I needed to photograph “something pink” even though I didn’t have almost any pink object in the apartment, and I had some weird topics, e.g. “what you wore today”. But I forced myself to create at least one photo for each of the topics. The best ones were published.

Most of the photos were taken using Nikon D3200 + 18-55mm kit lens (and occasionally using a tripod). A few photos were taken using Huawei P9 Lite. Almost all of them were post-processed in Photoshop in order to make them not-so-ordinary 🙂

I want to write a thank-you-note too. My fiancée was a great support, giving me ideas and advices for some topics, and I am very thankful to her 🙂

Now back to the topic, for the last day of this challenge I had to create another self-portrait.

During the challenge I was forced to think differently, to break some of the self-imposed rules, and generally I had to be somebody else from time to time. So I decided to take a portrait of my multi-personality 🙂

My camera was set on a tripod, self-timer was set to 10 seconds, with 6 consecutive shots. One of the shots was empty (i.e. without me in the frame), and in the other 5 photos I took different poses.

I merged all the photos, set the layer masks so that only I was left in each layer, I decreased opacity of all the layers (except the layer without me in it), and I also converted the image to black & white.

30.jpg

At least I broke my aversion to being in front of a camera… and I broke it five times 🙂

Thank you everybody for following my adventure in this challenge, and also for following my Instagram profile and leaving comments. Please continue doing so, your feedback is very important to me, it makes me a better photographer.

My work can be found on Facebook, Instagram and 500px (here you can also buy some of my photos).

Once again – thank you and I’ll see you soon in some other adventure.

All the best,

V.

Leave a comment